Lockdown: ‘Photo-Editing Tips with a Phone’

Throughout lockdown, I have made the most of my time by being creative, taking pictures and sharing them to social media! I very rarely edit my images, but thought that I would slightly alter some of the original shots to create some interesting images. Here’s some of the ‘before’ and ‘after’ images!

For the first image in this set, I simply held my camera close to my face and looked down towards the floor. In the following images, I stood in front of the mirror (after tidying up my room) to take some simple mirror portraits. After looking at the images, I wanted to experiment with adding some filters/shapes to make them a little bit more interesting!

The inspiration that I had in order to create the above images was from Andy Warhol’s collages (of course), and a few other photographers who helped me create some interesting photography pieces as part of my Photography A Level! (Below, Andy Warhol is being photographed by Lawrence Field, but he also has some of his own collage work too!). I used a variety of iPhone applications which allowed me to make collages, add shapes, text and different background colours!

American artist Andy Warhol is photographed at The Factory pressing the shutter-release button of the camera in a collaborative portrait with photographer Lawrence Fried, New York City, NY, January 1965.

…and I have also made one of the edited images my profile picture on Instagram because I liked it that much! Photographers, editors, videographers or any other creatives…think about taking pictures of yourselves and editing them in any which way you can to create simple pieces like this! It doesn’t take a long time and it most certainly doesn’t cost a lot of money either!

Leave a comment